Homemade Chicken Salad Recipe

Since Clint and I got married, we started cooking all the time. We both {really} LOVE to cook. So for Clint’s birthday, I bought him an electric smoker. He loves it! He is researching different ways to smoke meat, and he is enjoying making his own concoctions.

On Sunday, Clint wanted to smoke a whole chicken. The chicken was full of flavor, and it was very juicy. I told Clint that I wanted to make homemade chicken salad with the leftovers. Chicken salad is one of my favorite summertime foods. It is perfect to eat on those HOT summer days. So, I thought I would share my take on homemade chicken salad. 

Ingredients and supplies needed:

  • Chicken
  • Mayonnaise
  • Onion
  • Almond Slivers
  • Black Pepper
  • Grapes
  • Mixing bowl with lid
  • Mini food chopper (optional)
  • Spoon
  • Fork

There are so many different ways to make chicken salad. My version is very simple, yet it is still tasty. You probably have the ingredients sitting in your pantry and fridge already. I did not include measurements for the ingredients. I did this because not everybody will want to make the same amount. Also, everyone’s taste buds are different. Everyone may not want the same amount of mayonnaise, black pepper, onions, etc.

Follow the steps below to make your own savory chicken salad.

  1. I start out by shredding the cooked chicken with a fork.
    {It is completely up to you on how you would like to season and cook the chicken.}
  2. Place shredded chicken in large mixing bowl and add mayonnaise.
    {I start with a small amount of mayonnaise. I do not like a lot of it, and I can always add more later if there is not enough.}
  3. Chop onion and add to mix.
    {I used a yellow onion, but you can use any kind. I chop my onion using a mini food chopper because I like onions chopped very fine. However, if you like larger pieces of onion use a knife.}
    Here is a picture of my mini food chopper. You can find them in the appliance section of most department stores.Mini Food Chopper
  4. Chop almond slivers and add to mix.
    {I LOVE almonds! I use the mini food chopper to cut the almond slivers even smaller. I like having a taste of almond in every bite.}
  5. Add whole grapes or sliced grapes to mix.
    {I use red grapes in my chicken salad. It gives it a sweeter taste. I slice my grapes in half, but you could leave them whole.}
  6. Add black pepper to mix.
    {I love black pepper, but its flavor can sometimes be overpowering. I only add a little black pepper to my mix. However, you can add as much as you would like.}
  7. Stir the mix until all ingredients are combined. Serve immediately or let it chill in the fridge until it is time to serve.

Chicken salad can be served in many different ways. I think that is why it is so well liked. My favorite is to eat chicken salad on a croissant roll, but toasted bread is a good alternative too. Here is picture of my chicken salad sandwich.

Chicken Salad Sandwich

There is so much more you can add to chicken salad, but I like to keep it simple. Celery is usually found in chicken salad, but I leave it out completely. I have also heard of people adding apple slices, pecans, boiled eggs, and more.

How do you like to enjoy your chicken salad? I would love to hear from you!

5e8f3-signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

